The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) is the new administrative body responsible for the civic and infrastructural assets of the city of Bangalore, India. It was formed in 2007 by merging 100 wards of the erstwhile Bangalore Mahanagara Palike, along with 7 City Municipal Councils(CMC) (Rajarajeshwari, Dasarahalli, Bommanahalli, Krishnarajapuram, Mahadevapura, Byatarayanapura and Yelahanka), one Town Municipal Council (Kengeri) and 111 villages around Bangalore.

The BBMP represents the third level of government, (the Central government and State Government being the first two levels). Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike is run by a city council. The city council comprises elected representatives, called “corporators”, one from each of the wards (localities) of the city. Elections to the council are held once every 5 years, with results being decided by popular vote. Members contesting elections to council represent one of more of the state’s political parties. First elections to the newly-created body was held on 28 th of March 2010, after the delays due to delimitation of wards and finalising voter lists.